“The farm was first settled in the 1890’s by Arthur’s grandfather who came to Australia from Wales. He developed it into a successful dairy farm and in 1946 it was taken over by Arthur’s parents who continued dairy farming, providing milk and eggs to many of the local families of the day. They also developed a banana plantation on the farm and continued dairy production and bananas until 1970, when Arthur built a piggery housing approximately 300 pigs on the site where the units presently stand.
Arthur and Margaret bought the whole farm in 1982 and continued with pig production, beef cattle and bananas until 1996, when they closed the piggery, dismantled it and built Mooyabil Farm Holiday units and the Conference room.
The farm has always been named Mooyabil, which is taken from the name of the ridge of hills running through the property. Mooyabil continues to be a successful beef farm, while also providing a pleasant country experience for the guests who stay in the units.”